Waiting on Wednesday 11/9

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can't wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I'm particularly excited for...

Title: Fracture
Author: Megan Miranda
Publisher: Walker & Company
Publish Date: January 17, 2012
Pages: 272
Genre: YA, Paranormal

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine - the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?
There's something about Fracture that sounds just eerie enough to completely sell me on the premise. It's almost as though it has the emotional range of a powerful contemporary, creepy enough to satisfy the paranormal and dramatic enough to work both angles. It's books that cross genres that usually appeal to me, and it certainly sounds awesome. Plus, look at the cover! The blues are gorgeous! What do you think, and what are you waiting on this week?


  1. Great Pick:)


  2. Fracture sounds so suspenseful, and the paranormal aspect is intriguing as well. What a great WoW pick, Melissa! :)

  3. Great pick! This one sounds really interesting. It seems like the perfect mix of contemporary and paranormal.

  4. Fractured does sound like it will be a interesting read with some amazing twists. Great pick!

  5. This sounds great. i will be adding it to my wishlist!

    My WOW

    Emma @ Lost in a YA Book

  6. Yep, great pick! I love the cover too...the blues but also that splash of red!

    Nice choice. I've had my eye on this one for awhile...

  7. Seeing this one around a bit lately! Saw it on Netgalley too! You should try requesting it to read it earlier!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

  8. Ooooo, Fracture sounds really good. Great pick!

  9. I'm really excited about this one too! I keep seeing it as I scour NetGalley and I've wanted to request it but I keep forgetting. I'm a little challenged. *runs to request it now*

  10. I read this book already and loved it. The twist in it is great.

  11. This sounds great. Sounds like something a little different from all the paranormals out there. Quite refreshing.

  12. Great pick, Melissa. I fell in love with the cover the second I saw it and I've been waiting on it forever!

  13. I'm looking forward to this one too, Melissa! I've heard it pitched for fans of "If I Stay" and "Before I Fall". I loved both books so I'm hoping it lives up to its hype.

  14. Oooh I picked this one last week, great choice! I can't wait to read this one, I JUST got it and hope to read it soon :).

  15. This one does seem perfectly eerie.

  16. Fracture's a good one! I think you'll like the fact that it's a little dark. :)

  17. I just had the chance to read an ARC of this and I absolutely fell in love with it. The writing was beautiful and the story itself, was so powerfully relatable that you couldn't help but feel with the character's. Great WoW! :)

    Suz @ A Soul Unsung
    My WoW!

  18. I agree--that cover is so haunting! Can't wait for this. Sounds like a book I won't want to put down.

  19. Love this cover and can't wait to have a copy of this in my hands finally! Excellent choice :)

    My WoW

  20. Sounds absolutely fantastic! So freaky! I think I'll be waiting for this one too!


  21. This one sounds so fantabulous -- I love the kind of eerie elements. Plus, that cover for some reason catches my eye.

  22. I've seen this one! It looks seriously crazy. I'm so excited! :D


Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I always do my very best to return the favour :)

Please note that this blog is an award-free zone!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Pin It button on image hover